Viva la Turducken!

Turducken is something I do every year for Thanksgiving.  This year I did the more traditional Turducken with the whole birds and cornbread stuffing.  I have a lot of fun with it cause I think it is really cool to stuff it into the shape of an actual turkey… but with no bones (except the leg and wing).  

I made this one for all my friends at Orson on my last supper. The turkey itself was a 25 pounder to start.   The Turducken was about 38 pounds before going into the oven.  The massive bird happly feed 25ish waiters, cooks, dishwashers, wives and we had leftovers for late night snacking.

I am sold out of Turduckens for Thanksgiving, but I am already taking orders for all your Holiday parties.  Click on the picture of the Turducken above for more info.

19 Responses to “Viva la Turducken!”

  1. If you sold turduckens at a farmer’s market, I would buy it. Just let me know where. It looks amazing!

  2. dolores garay Says:

    wow, please let me know if you are going to sell turdukens for Thanksgiving – and how much would they cost?

    best, dolores

  3. Maria Graham Says:

    Ryan,
    It looks so jolly! I don’t think I could afford even a small one, but this may start something!
    Miss you @ Fifth Floor! Off to bigger + better things for you!
    G-d bless!
    Maria

  4. Luisa Pecson Says:

    It looks delicious. I am looking forward to making my own turducken from your recipe. Keep up the good work. Thank you for sharing. God Bless!
    Luisa Pecson……

  5. Thanks for the play by play. It’s interesting to see how it’s done, but I’ll leave it to the professionals. Besides, if I do it myself what will I send the in-laws for giftmas? Somehow I don’t think a homemade turducken will make it from Azerbaijan to Ohio and still be edible…hey, wait a minute ; )

  6. Oh my gosh!!! It looks amazing. How long did you cook it?

    PS. Thanks for checking out my blog. Your’s is great. I like the detailed pictures of your Turducken.

  7. Nice tutorial on making the turducken, it looks great, making me hungry! Thanks for stopping by my blog too!

  8. Cool, Chef…

  9. crapwelike Says:

    amazing- this looks delicious!

    thanks for the tutorial on turducken. i guess it’s too late to do this year but will definitely be happening in ’09.

  10. burgerbaroness Says:

    This is amazing, I have never seen the process of making turducken presented so clearly. Thanks for stopping by my blog but it really pales in comparison to yours.

  11. I just watched a hilarious episode of Ace of Cakes where they made a turducken cake, but I’ve never seen the real thing. Incredible!

  12. What happens if you stuff the whole turducken, with a goose inside a pig, and caja china it for 10 hours?

  13. bestbyfarr Says:

    It would be the quintessential flavor country in my mind and a mid afternoon snack at the heaven I will retire at.

    Definitely something the town of Atlanta would love for a VDay treat!

  14. Wow that looks amazing. And that flavor injector looks pretty scary. I can imagine that the duck’s meat is the best seeing as it collects the juices from the rest of the birds…is that true?

  15. bridgecatering Says:

    Well, we’ve not had one request for a turducken here, so I guess we’ll leave those to you! All our Atlanta holiday catering searches seem to be turkey dinners and ham dinners, and we’ll stick to those!

  16. castercomm Says:

    Turducken is the preeminent poultry product. Keep spreading the word and sharing your pics, I’m drooling at my screen.

  17. Ryan,

    Again, nicely done! Here is my version: http://www.homebrewchef.com/anatomyofabird.html

    Cheers and Happy Holidays!

    Sean

  18. Stupid question: I’ve never had a turducken, is the consistency of the chicken and duck skin rubbery?

  19. Not a stupid question. Normally it would be rubbery if the skin wasn’t seared with direct heat. Being the Turducken is cooked for 5-8 hours depending on the size the skin melts like butter and can be cut with a fork. Its killer, thanks for the question

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

