Emulsifying, Stuffing, Poaching and Shocking Sausage

3 Responses to “Emulsifying, Stuffing, Poaching and Shocking Sausage”

  1. I remeber doing the exact same thing back in school, thanks for the trip down memory lane http://picasaweb.google.com/ramakho/FishReviewDay2#

  2. Dave in VA Says:

    Quick question: I’ve tried using salt-preserved natural casings, but can’t seem to get that funky smell out, even after multiple rinsings. I’ve gone to using collagen casings. Any comments on collagen casings, esp. tips on how to get twists to hold? Thanks again!

  3. bestbyfarr Says:

    I would go back to using natural casings and explore another source for you intestines. I find if I soak them in water for 4-5 days prior that really helps with the end texture and smell. If you still don’t like the smell maybe try soaking them in milk. I don’t really have any experience with collagen casings, don’t you buy the clamps? I would tie the ends as tight as possible and then tie it in the center to create 2 sausages. Hope that helps, good luck.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

